Week #21: Motley Kitchen + Downtown Sudbury’s Restaurant Scene

I didn’t venture too far this week: all the way to downtown Sudbury for lunch one day. I’ve been meaning to check out Motley Kitchen ever since it opened a few years ago. It has an interesting concept and (as it turned out) really good food! It’s not only a bistro, serving brunch and lunch, but also does catering and serves as an event space and “kitchen incubator”. They rent out commercial kitchen space for businesses/individuals that want to sell food but don’t have their own commercial kitchen on site.

I don’t have pictures because I wasn’t planning on this being my mini-adventure of the week, but you can see the menu here. I had the kale salad and my friend had the fish taco. My salad was simple but tasty and the taco looked (and was reported to be) delicious. The special that day was a spicy falafel burger, which I probably would have gotten if I wasn’t going to be having almost the exact same thing for dinner that night!

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the dining space itself had a nice welcoming and open vibe. I loved the healthy, fresh ingredients they used and they did have vegan options (I noticed a vegan chili on the menu – will try that next time). As we were leaving, we noticed a brunch menu by the cash register. It also looked really good and I was eyeing up the stuffed french toast. Another reason to return for sure.

I’ve noticed a pretty big change in Sudbury’s restaurant scene since I moved here around 5 years ago (and those who have lived here longer probably notice an even bigger change). I really like how a lot of the local restaurants and cafes offer something unique: Motley Kitchen has a “Dinner and a Show” series, Respect is Burning has dining spaces on three levels filled with interesting artwork plus the attached Red Fang Tavern is a great option for grabbing a drink after dinner and catching some live music, Kuppajo Espresso Bar has a cool colourful piano and showcases local artists’ paintings that are available for purchase. And I should mention 84 Station, a fun place if you want to grab a drink and play board games, watch sports and/or chill on the patio.

There are also a lot more healthy and/or vegan options popping up like Frubar, Tuco’s Tacos and Beards Coffee Bar and Bakery (which I have not been to yet). And I’m excited that Salute opened a downtown location – they have great coffee and food (mmm the scones are SO GOOD).

I guess the takeaway is: Motley Kitchen was good and I’ll be back. Downtown Sudbury is changing and I like it.

Leave a Reply

