Week #19: Vancouver

After Victoria, I hopped back on the ferry to Vancouver. I loved this city – it really only has two things against it: rain and $$$. If it rained money then it would be perfect. I stayed at an Airbnb in Arbutus Ridge area which was in between Kitsilano Beach and UBC. This is going to be a bit of a long post, sorry!

IMG_6097 (2).JPG

DSC01467
View from the balcony. One perk of rain = rainbows 🙂
IMG_5953
Steps down to the Airbnb, I loved how bright these shrubs were! Did not love how the light didn’t come on until you were at the bottom…then blinded you

Kitsilano Beach & Stanley Park

On my first day, my cousin and I ran/walked around Kitsilano Beach and Stanley Park. We covered a lot of ground and it was a great way to see the city and take in the gorgeous scenery. I love how you never feel out of place if you’re wearing workout gear – I think I mentioned that Vancouver contains 90% of the world’s kale but it is also home to 95% of spandex and 99% of Lululemon apparel. Facts. Anyway, both of these places were beautiful and running or walking along the sea wall is amazing – do it.

IMG_5941
View from Stanley Park
IMG_5947
Funky tree in Stanley Park
IMG_5952
Lost Lagoon
IMG_5957
Sorry for creeping, but I love your flowers
IMG_6005
Sunset 🙂

Pacific Spirit Regional Park

This was a great park and really close to where I was staying. I walked a lot again this day, starting with a nice stroll through Pacific Spirit then meandering around UBC and down to Wreck Beach. Everything was so green in this park! Another highlight was the sheer volume of dogs – some areas were off-leash and there were so many dog walkers (commercial walkers had to wear vests – sweet job though) with up to six dogs each! I had a little dog friend named Kiefer walk with me for a bit (but I think he really just wanted to hang out with this cute girl dog that was also near me). Really though, how can you not be in a good mood when you’re surrounded by this scenery and a million (slight exaggeration) well-behaved dogs?!? I don’t think I stopped smiling the whole time haha.

University of British Columbia (UBC)

What. A. Stunning. Campus. And to think that I stayed landlocked with zero mountains for university… both times 😦 There are a few museums on campus, including the Museum of Anthropology, which is supposed to be really good. I would have liked to visit but there just wasn’t enough time for everything! There’s also the Beaty Biodiversity Museum (didn’t go) and one I did pop into – the Belkin Art Gallery (it was free – that was the main determining factor, not going to lie). “Candle” – the Master of Fine Arts Graduate Exhibition – was…interesting. My favourite was a video of a guy sliding a trombone on repeat for like 15 minutes.  The explanations of these pieces made my brain hurt – “….negation qua critique is nothing but an attachment to modernity’s ontological impoverishment; moreover, it is negligence in practice – of the surround; of what lies beneath the Ground that conditions the agony of your critical agency”. Um, I’ll take your word for it. Also, that’s a really long sentence.

PSP8
So prettyyyyy…reminded me of Western a bit (but with noticeably more mountain and ocean)
PSP9
How Canadian, eh?
PSP10
Oh these? Just more beautiful gardens.
PSP11
Asian garden

Wreck Beach

Follow the looong staircase down to this nude (ahem, clothing optional) beach! It wasn’t exactly what I would consider “naked temperature” today, but that didn’t deter some people. This was a really nice spot, a good place to hang out (hehe). I feel I can’t really say much without my words getting misconstrued so I’ll just let you look at some (appropriate) pictures:

PSP12
Stairs for days
PSP15
Watch out for splinters : /
PSP17
The water wasn’t tooooo cold
IMG_5970
Aww, too bad.

Vancouver Aquarium

Meh. Went here on a rainy day…it was alright. I think Toronto’s is better to be honest (more sharks) plus I’m not a big fan of zoos or aquariums in general. I would much rather spend my time outside but you could go here if the weather is crappy. Things I liked: 4-D ocean predators ride was kind of fun (and included in the admission price) and the otters were cute (they held hands, awww). That’s my ringing endorsement…kids would probably like it (I’m guessing? This is based on observation – I don’t really know much about these small humans).

AQ2
I’d rather just be in the Caribbean but the colourful fish are still pretty
AQ4
Jellies
AQ8
Favourite pals
IMG_5979
Rainy day selfie…pre-aquarium

Whistler and Sea to Sky Highway

This drive was beautiful! It was gray and raining on our way up to Whistler so we didn’t get to see too much, but the drive back was clear and sunny 🙂 It would have been nice to take more time to do this drive and hike and/or camp along the way but was still worth it for a day trip. We made stops at Brandywine and Shannon Falls, which were gorgeous, and stopped to eat our treats from Purebread in Whistler (yummmmm) at lookouts along the way. Whistler was nice too; it was off-season so wasn’t too bustling. It was very tempting to shop at all the outdoor/athletic gear stores. I was excited to introduce my Welsh friend to poutine here, but was also nervous since I didn’t know how the quality would be. The curds could have definitely been squeakier (that’s the most important part!!!), but the fries had a good crisp to them. The gravy was mysteriously dark. Conclusion: the Alban chip stand does it better (obviously).

WH6
Remember when the Olympics were here?
WH10
Brandywine Falls
WH12
So blue!
WH15
Nice drive
WH20
Shannon Falls
WH28
Not a bad view

That’s about it for this week! I have a few more things to talk about but I’ll save that for Week #20 (where does the time go?). Thanks for reading!

 

One thought on “Week #19: Vancouver

Leave a Reply

