Week #11: Capreol

Well, this week’s little adventure was slightly more successful…I managed to get out of the car at least! The wind wasn’t quite as violent, but I still wouldn’t file this experience under “pleasant”. Don’t get me wrong, the scenery was lovely…I guess I’m just not a big fan of snotsicles and lack of feeling in the face. This is going to be a short post because I think the cold has frozen the thinking and writing parts of my brain for the time being.

The Capreol trail is another Rainbow Route trail and goes along the Vermillion River in Capreol (as you might have guessed). It took me longer than it should have to figure out how close I also was to the train track – why is it SO loud?? Anyway, the first part of this trail is a road and then you cross a bridge to continue on another road . I wasn’t sure I was on the right path but then I took the opposite direction to the “Capreol Ski Trail” arrow and found the opening to the non-road part of the trail. This was a pretty short out and back trail but I was definitely more than OK with that.

Capreol1
Once I made it onto the trail-trail
Capreol2
Glimpse of the Vermillion River

Capreol3Capreol4

It ended at some rapids and the water was moving quickly when I was there. I took a (brief) moment to appreciate the sparkly snow and water and then trekked back to the beginning of the trail. I walked backward at some points when the wind got really bad; lucky for me the only witnesses to my super cool backward walking was a couple of wiener dogs in argyle sweaters. We acknowledged one another’s awesome-ness and carried on. Excited for a change of scenery and temperature again starting tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

